Advanced Rural Skills Training

Develop your skills in rural general practice with RACGP.

On completion of Advanced Rural Skills Training (ARST) and the FARGP requirements, you will be awarded the Fellowship in Advanced Rural General Practice (FARGP). This fellowship cannot be undertaken as a stand-alone qualification, but in addition to the Fellowship of Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (FRACGP). You can undergo ARST at any point during training once you have completed your Hospital Training Time. In this term, you are required to complete 12 months training in one or two disciplines from the disciplines listed below:

  • Aboriginal health
  • anaesthetics
  • child and adolescent health
  • emergency medicine
  • mental health
  • obstetrics
  • palliative care
  • Royal Flying Doctor Service
  • small town general practice
  • surgery.

With the aim to develop advanced rural skills, the FARGP has been designed to suit GP registrars and experienced GPs. For information on pre-requisites and requirements, visit the RACGP website. If you are interested in undertaking a FARGP, please contact us at

For guidelines for the FARGP, click here.